Malaysian National News Agency

Malaysia U-18 Squad Fail To Make Final
March 11, 2007 01:56 AM
BANDAR SERI BEGAWAN, March 10 (Bernama) -- The Malaysian U-18 squad's hope of reaching the final for the Hassanal Bolkiah Trophy (HBT) were dashed when they lost 0-2 to Myanmar in the semi-final held at the Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium here.

Myanmar will meet Thailand on Monday, which will be a repeat of the second edition of the football tournament in 2005 where the Thais won 3-0.

In the other semi-final held earlier, Thailand trounced Cambodia 10-1.

Experience clearly separated the Malaysian squad which was formed only eight days before the HBT tournament began last Saturday, while the Myanmar team have been together for three years.

Myanmar opened the score in the 21st minute through Si Thu Than's drive towards goal which was sent into the back of the net by Aung Myo Thant.

Six minutes later, Si Thu Than scored the second goal after receiving a pass from Kyaw Haty Oo when Malaysia's Mohd Shahril Sa'ari was out of position.

Malaysia tried to increase the pressure with some dangerous moves by Ahmad Aminuddin Shaharuddin and captain G.K. Gurusamy but the two hit wide in front of goal.

Myanmar continued to dominate in the second half while Malaysian coach K. Rajagobal's charges went on the defensive.

When Myanmar continued to threaten with the combination of Yaza Win Thein and Si Thu Than, Malaysia brought in first choice goalkeeper Amir Omar Khata in the 73rd minute, but forwards Ahmad Aminuddin Shaharuddin and Mohd Akmal Mohd Noor still failed to find the Myanmar net.

Three minutes from time, Abdul Shukur Jusoh received a red card from Indonesian referee Marto Karjono Daryanto for a foul.

MALAYSIA: Mohd Shahril Sa'ari (Amir Omar Khata), Mohd Nazrin Baharudin, Mohd Shaiful Hazmi Salleh, Mohd Faizal Muhammad, G.K. Gurusamy, Firdaus Azizul (Mohd Syazwan Zainon), Ahmad Fakhri Saarani, Ahmad Aminuddin Shahruddin, Abdul Shukur Jusoh, Mohd Akmal Mohd Noor, Hariri Mohd Safii.

MYANMAR: Kyaw Zin Htet, Mow Win, Zaw Htet Aung, Khin Maung Lwin, Kyaw Haty Oo (Nay Win), Yaza Win Thein, Aung Myo Thant, Hla Aye Htwe, Si Thu Than (Ye Wai Yan Soe), Htoo Kyaw, Payae Phyo Oo.


Copyright 2017 BERNAMA. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in any form except with the prior written permission of BERNAMA. Disclaimer