Malay Version
North South East Central Sabah &Sarawak
|Back to | Sitemap | Viewer Feedback | Contact Us |
Main Menu
Main Page
News List
Archived News
Other Links
Johor State Government
Melaka State Goverment

Southern Region News

March 19, 2008 20:49 PM

Cabinet Can Discharge Responsibility Effectively - Ghani

JOHOR BAHARU, March 19 (Bernama) -- Johor Menteri Besar Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman is confident the new Cabinet of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi can discharge their responsibility and implement government policies effectively.

He said the Cabinet comprising eight ministers from Johor showed that Johor Barisan Nasional (BN) was still strong and had the support of the people.

Six others were appointed as deputy ministers.

"I have faith in the Cabinet, a mix of old and new faces, who can explain government programmes and policies to the people," he told reporters after chairing the first state executive council meeting here today.

He said Johor BN sent the Prime Minister the names of 25 Members of Parliament for his consideration to fill the posts.

"Johor has the most number of ministers and deputy ministers compared to the other states. This shows that Johor BN is strong. This will create close ties between the federal and state government in implementing the various projects."

Abdul Ghani said despite a decline in popular votes, Johor BN continued to be the party of choice among the voters.

"Johor BN received 63 per cent of the popular votes in the election recently compared to 77 per cent in 2004 and only 59 per cent in 1990," he said.

Johor BN won 25 parliamentary and 50 state seats in the election while the Opposition won one parliamentary and six state seats.

The Johor ministers are Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin (International Trade and Industry), Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar (Home Affairs), Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad (Domestic Trade and Consumers Affairs), Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein (Education), Datuk Dr S.Subramaniam (Human Resource), Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said (Tourism), Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin (Higher Education), and Senator Datuk Amirsham Abdul Aziz (Minister in the Prime Minister's Department).

The deputy ministers are Dr Wee Ka Siong (Education), Teng Boon Soon (Unity, Culture, Arts and Heritage), Datuk Noraini Ahmad (Human Resource), Wee Jeck Seng (Youth and Sports), Datuk Dr Abdul Latif Ahmad (Health), and Dr Hou Kok Chung (Higher Education).



©2017 BERNAMA. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Security Policy
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in any form except with the prior written permission of BERNAMA.
Best viewed in Firefox 3.0 & Internet Explorer 7.0 with 1024 x 768 resolution